Week in Review: Nov 11-15
What a cold week we had here in North Carolina. Where did Fall go?
We are 17 days away from the implementation of Raise the Age! The countdown from 100 years has been LONG! 😀
There were a few updates for 2019 juvenile justice legislation. Read about them here.
RAISE THE AGE TIP!
How Will Probable Cause Be Different for 16 and 17 Year Olds?
Currently for 13, 14 and 15 year olds, if the court finds probable cause, the court must also have a transfer hearing before determining whether a juvenile should be transferred (except for First Degree Murder, which must be transferred if probable cause is found). The probable cause hearing must be held within 15 days of first appearance but may be continued for good cause.
For 16 and 17 year olds charged with a Class A through G offense, if the court finds probable cause, the court must transfer the case to superior court. Another important difference is that the probable cause hearing must be held within 90 days of first appearance but may be continued for good cause.
For 16 and 17 year olds charged with a Class H or I offense, the court must have both a probable cause hearing and a transfer hearing before transferring the juvenile to superior court.
We have a RADIO GUEST STAR IN THE OFFICE!!
Austine was invited to interview at North Carolina Central University’s School of Law podcast, The Legal Eagle alongside Dorothy Hairston Mitchell. Dorothy is the Clinical Assistant Professor and Supervising Attorney at the Juvenile Law Clinic at NCCU. They spoke about juvenile justice and Raise the Age, both very important issues.
Want to check out that interview, visit Legal Eagle Sunday at 7 PM.
LAST BUT DEFINITELY NOT LEAST!
Join us on Twitter & Facebook for a Town Hall regarding Raise The Age. Want us to answer a specific question or simply join in on the conversation? Use the hashtag #RaiseTheAgeNC !